Kristen Shane, RN, BSN, NBC-HWC

Registered Nurse, National Board Certified Health & Wellness Coach

I have been working in Health Care for over 20 years trying to focus on HEALTH which led me on an interesting and unique career path from Women’s & Newborn Health, Child Psychology, Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Weight Management, Chronic Disease Coaching, and Pediatric Gastroenterology. Recently I have become A Functional Medicine Health Coach so I can continue to help others discover their path to their healthiest selves.

I grew up in the Midwest in an active family of 4 girls with 2 working parents; where the motto for food and nutrition basically was- If you can’t nuc (microwave) it, you don’t eat it”.  We were the first generation of the Standard American Diet, Snackwells (low-fat, high sugar) and convenience foods.  I was one of the ‘big” girls, on the sports teams and in the biggest in my family, I emotional ate, dieted and I carried guilt and shame about my size and eating habits.

In 2012, I watched the strongest and most important woman in my life become ill.  At the time, I felt helpless and at the mercy of Western Medicine, which was of no help for her condition.  My three sisters and I grew up watching my mom be and do all the things for us: breadwinner, schedule planner, chauffeur, supporter, role model.  We came first and I see now that she lost herself.  She yo-yo dieted, never exercised, or did much of anything for herself, she was devoid of time to feed her soul.  Because of her sacrifice, my sisters and I thrived, participated in a variety of activities, attended the University of Michigan, built careers, and now families of our own.